Not with a Bang

Day 1 Event: “Queering Cinema” lecture by Dr. Candace Moore at the University of Michigan Institute for Women and Gender.  Attended by Kara.

Holy crapballs! It’s finally February 1st!!!! It seems like Katie and I have been talking and planning this for so long it seems hard to believe that it’s finally starting. In reality, I know that we just came up with this idea a week and a half ago, but I’ve been kind of obsessing about it which makes time move SLOWLY.

Anyway, today it was finally time for our experiment to officially begin. Unfortunately, feedyourmindfebruary began with a whimper. Wednesdays are the day of the week that Katie is the busiest and won’t really be able to attend events unless they take place in the evening and I can cajole her away from her couch and heating pad.  So, it fell to me to choose, and attend, the first event solo.

There were two events that sounded interesting today and I ended up choosing the talk, “Queering Cinema” because it sounded like my thing (for those who don’t know I study American history, gender, and popular culture). Since this event was at noon it also allowed me to spend the rest of the day visiting my grandma (FYI: I’m writing this from Garden City Hospital Rehabilitation Center  – hooray for free internet!).

I had several issues with this event right from the start. Here is a brief list:

  1. There was an old guy sitting behind me eating a bag of potato chips and I’m absolutely disgusted by mouth and/or chewing noises.
  2. After rushing to get there on time they started ten minutes late.
  3. The speaker spent most of those ten minutes futzing with the microphone which she didn’t really need because it was not that big of a room.
  4. The title of the talk was totally misleading and she did not discuss film, but rather television and more specifically the show the L Word, which I have never seen and don’t give a crap about.
  5. Eavesdropping on other people’s gossip about their academic department is super boring. On the plus side it makes them sound petty and pretentious which then makes me feel kind of superior.
  6. I thought it was an hour but it turned out to be an hour and a half.
  7. Katie was not there.
Image

Not my kind of show. I prefer re-runs of Murder, She Wrote.

The actual talk was only mildly interesting. I wanted to hear about gay movies, not television. The lecture began with a brief overview of the book Moore is working on which was disappointing because there was not enough content on any one subject and every time she mentioned something that sounded cool she just moved on instead of explaining it further. For instance did you know that there was a made for TV movie in the 1970s with homosexual characters called In the Glitter Palace? Doesn’t that sound amazing? Don’t you want to watch that right now? Or at least find out what the plot was? Too bad!

The bulk of the talk was a case study of the L-Word. She said that the show used hetero-centric strategies for queer purposes and that the show was marketed to a broad crossover, as well as to a lesbian niche, audience.  What this discussion really made me realize was that I’m out of practice when it comes to understanding and taking notes on academic lectures. It’s been awhile. I’ll try to do better next time.

Overall rating of today’s event: meh.

~ Kara

Image

I felt neither highs or lows about today's event.

6 thoughts on “Not with a Bang

  1. Sanket Desai says:

    I watched every season of the L-word, so I guess it was successfully hetero-centric. I fucking hated Jenny. HATE. I also hated Bette until the last season when she wasn’t such a raging psycho.

  2. Erica says:

    Erf. L-Word. How misleading.

    p.s. Your lipstick is adorable!

    • I’ll tell my grandma! That’ll make her so happy because she always tells me that I should never leave my house without lipstick. My compromise is that I don’t leave my house to go see her without lipstick.

  3. carptrash says:

    So in the Q&A section following the lecture did you ask her to define “movie?”

Leave a Reply

