Our Day at the Races

Day 4: RC Car Racing

This morning my friend Liz and I got up fairly early and went to the Kiwanis sale. For those of you who don’t know the Kiwanis Club of Ann Arbor is a charity organization that helps kids. They have a big second hand shop/multi-floor junk extravaganza on the corner of Washington and First St. If you’ve never been before I highly recommend it. It’s always crowded and full of crazy and cheap things.

JFK water glasses, $1 each!

Then we went to breakfast at Bell’s Diner. Liz is new to the Westside of Ann Arbor and had never been to Bell’s before. After a brief stop at my house to drop off my loot we picked up Katie and headed out to the Washtenaw Farm Council Grounds to go to see some Remote-Controlled Car Racing. I would like to take this time to point out that not all culture has to be high-brow.

Anyway, when we got there we were a little sketched out.

Looked like it could be a neighborhood of serial killers

We found the right warehouse and entered another world. This new world was populated by a community that I wasn’t really aware existed. We named them hick-nerds. There were a lot of camo jackets and dorky glasses. There were also a lot of 12-year-old boys.

The warehouse was full of tables with assorted half-assembled remote control cars. There was even a food truck selling pretzels. At the far end of the warehouse there were some small wooden bleachers facing the race track.

Liz and Katie enjoy the races

It was super fun to watch. I kind of had to coax Katie into going to this one but in the end she, Liz, and I had a great time. Yes, we were the only women there, and yes, we were obviously tourists just passing through, but it was not a bad way to spend a Saturday afternoon. Katie, especially, got really into it and shouted a lot at the crashes.

Dramatization of actual events

WordPress is a bitch and won’t let me post a movie without making me pay for an upgrade so here is a youtube link to a video I took of some RC cars. It’s a few minutes long and I’m not sure it really captures the magic of watching tiny cars fly and crash. As Katie exclaimed, “It’s so much better than real car racing!”

Katie, Liz, and I give this event six thumbs up. It happens again on February 18th and we all recommend that you check it out!

~ Kara

"It was so awesome, I could have stayed there all day" - Katie

3 thoughts on “Our Day at the Races

  1. Sarah says:

    You guys are awesome. I wish it was summer and Alex and I could have come with you. Also, now I want a soft pretzel.

  2. Erica says:

    I would totally buy those glasses for you if I saw them at Trader Buck’s.

  3. todays date says:

    Off shortly to Totnes for some Scandinavian food and drinking, though it goes without saying it’s REALLY cold. Even had snow this morning.

Leave a Reply

