Lazy Sunday

Day 5: Docent tour at the University of Michigan Museum of Art

Being smart, cynical, critical people it can be hard for both Katie and me to shape our thoughts in positive ways. But we’re trying to not be negative. It feels slightly unnatural. That said I don’t think this tour was really intended for us. Most of it seemed kind of obvious.

Portrait of Kara from very far away

On the other hand, it was nice to go to the museum on a nice Sunday afternoon. The tour was cool because it was themed; it was an examination of portraits. The tour guide was very nice, I especially liked her because she said that Law and Order was the greatest tv show ever, though she did have a tendency to drop the papers she was holding. She also asked us a lot of questions about the pictures which I think were more geared toward a younger audience

Katie learns some stuff she already knew

The tour was a neat way to see the museum because it included pieces from all different cultures, time periods, mediums, and styles. After the tour Katie and I wandered around for a few minutes. It was fun. I don’t think I’ve been to the Art Museum since I was in high school. They have some pretty nice works there. Even if I was ambivalent about this tour I would totally go on another one with a different theme. It’s free and a fun way to spend an hour.

Pablo Picasso was never called an asshole

Now back to my regularly scheduled Sunday afternoon of grading and watching re-runs of Murder, She Wrote.

~ Kara

Leave a Reply

