Pretty as a Picture

Day 6: Photo exhibit at the Jewish Community Center

I was supposed to go see a documentary tonight at Café Ambrosia on mining but I didn’t have anyone to go with and I wasn’t really feeling that enthusiastic about it. I decided instead to go see one of the art exhibits that is going on all month.

It was at the Jewish Community Center off Stone School Road. I had never been there before and it was a little hard to find. The road leading to the Center looks kind of like you’re turning into an apartment complex. The Center itself seemed nice. I did, however, think it was a little weird that I needed to sign in and show a photo id (which I left in the car and had to go get).

The photo exhibit, which was listed in the newspaper as being in the Amster Gallery, was less in a Gallery and more in a hallway; a hallway in the middle of the community center. At one point an after-school class of elementary students walked by me with buckets. They looked like they were having more fun than I was.

Image

This is a hallway

The pictures were pretty. They were all nature photos from around Michigan. I wish that the photographer included where the pictures were taken. There was a lot of driftwood and beaches. Overall the pictures were nice but not that impressive.

Image

Somewhere in Michigan

Maybe it’s because everyone in my family fancies themselves photographers, I take pictures of people, my dad buildings, my sister of her travels, and my mom of nature. I didn’t think they were anything better than what my mom does.

Unless you like to lurk in hallways, I would not really recommend this event.

~ Kara

One thought on “Pretty as a Picture

  1. Katie says:

    Mental note: do not book show at this venue…

Leave a Reply

