Stampy the Elephant

Day 7: Fabric Printing at the Pittsfield branch of the Ann Arbor District Library

For those of you who don’t know us, Katie and I once designed a Kurt Russell themed t-shirt. It has become quite famous among our group of friends. Needless to say, we both have some experience in stenciling, designing, and painting fabric. Neither of us, however, have any knowledge of screen printing so we were both excited to attend this workshop. Plus, it was free and you got to screen print and keep a tea towel. Awesome!

The workshop was held at the Pittsfield branch of the Ann Arbor Library. I had never been there before and had no idea where it was. It’s kind of behind Target. Also, it totally looks like it was designed by the Jetsons (Katie thought it looked like a weird space-age air plane hangar). After being totally confused by the doors, both outside and within the library, we found the activity room where the workshop was taking place.

Crazy library

There was a nice mixture of people, men, women, children, oldies, even someone who recognized me from high school and didn’t want to punch me in the face, as is my fear whenever someone says, “didn’t you go to Pioneer?”

Anyway, the actual workshop was kind of a disappointment. It was run by two very knowledgeable young women but I don’t really think I learned anything. They had pre-made stamps and a screenprint for everyone to play with. I was really hoping they would teach us how to make a screen, or at least demonstrate how to make one. Instead they talked about it briefly and then let us play. It was less about learning and more about stamping.

New way to make toast!

Don’t get me wrong, it was super fun. I love playing with paint and fabric. They had some fun stamps and good fabric-paint color choices. They let everyone take a turn making red dancing toast tea towels on the screen press that they had. Unfortunately, it was making the screen that I’ve always thought was the confusing part, not the actual printing, so this didn’t really help me that much.

Liz makes some stuff

Katie makes some other stuff

This one ended up being more of an activity than a learning opportunity.  But it was still really fun, we got to hang out (Liz even joined us again), and make some fun things.

Overall  rating for this event: three blue birds.

Event for tomorrow: Documentary on the band X, 8:30 at Arbor Brew Company.

~ Kara

2 thoughts on “Stampy the Elephant

  1. emy dillon says:

    K- I love the multi-colored elephant. Dominic’s favorite book and toy is Elmer (everyone’s favorite patchwork elephant) It is so cute. Check out Elmer books while hanging in the library.

    Can I say that I just love your blog! I wish I lived in A2 with everything to do.

  2. Al says:

    Dear Katie and Kara,

    Please forgive the lateness of my comment. You may have noticed that it takes me a while to get around to things sometimes.

    AADL somehow has more money than god. We should ask them if they will fix Dexter Ave/W Huron St while they’re building their sinkhole downtown.

    You should check out the Traverwood branch it looks like it was designed by a hippie with a mental age of six i.e. a hippie.

Leave a Reply

