Not Best in Show

Day 12: Dogs and Scandinavians

I think today’s events were the most disappointing yet. After I woke up this morning on my couch, slightly hungover since I drank a bottle of wine last night, I called Liz to see if she wanted breakfast and to go do some crazy free stuff today. Because she is awesome she came and picked me up and agreed to go to breakfast then drive me to Dexter to watch the agility trials at the Ann Arbor Dog Training Club.

It was a beautiful day for a drive to Dexter

We got out to the place (I’m not even sure what the building was) where the agility trials were and it made me feel awkward because there were not really any signs telling us where to go. Even though the advertisement for the event said spectators welcome, I don’t think they got many attendees who were not already affiliated, somehow, with the Ann Arbor Dog Training Club. I figured that RC Car racing was in a sketchy warehouse and that turned out to be awesome and even though I don’t really like dogs I thought this would be fun.

Turned out it was lame and I just felt really uncomfortable. The trials were in a big warehouse-like building. One section of the building had the obstacles that the dogs had to navigate. There were various jumps and tunnels and even a teeter-totter that the dogs had to walk across. When we got there nothing was happening. Liz asked one of the people who appeared to work there when the next trials would begin. She came back very confused and without a real answer.

After about ten minutes of standing around, there was a seating area but apparently you had to bring your own chair and it was full anyway, trainers began to run their dogs through the course. It was pretty fun to watch them.

Liz liked the dogs a lot more than the owners

I was trying to take pictures of the dogs, and not being very successful at it, when all of a sudden, like, eight people yelled at me for using a flash. I apologized and said that I didn’t know, but people continued to glare at me anyway. Uptight, middle-aged, Ann Arbor dog owners/trainers are not nearly as nice as RC car racing enthusiast hick-nerds.  We did not stay long.

I spent a lot of time at this library in high school

Then Liz agreed to go to the other event I wanted to attend today which was the Scandinavian Cultural Celebration at the Ann Arbor Public Library. In my head this event was comprised of arts and crafts, people dressed up in native Scandinavian dress, and possibly someone named Olaf the Peacock Born. In reality it was a bunch of people with little kids sitting in a room in the basement of the library while some woman discussed the mating rituals of Norwegians and then a dude started playing a violin.

The event was not what I wanted it to be

We stayed about 4 minutes.

Then, since we were there anyway and Liz and I can’t help ourselves, we stopped in at the Library book sale. This was the best part of the day. Liz found herself a Harry Potter that she didn’t have and I got my grandma a new romance novel, my sister a book of Roald Dahl short stories, and myself a Presidential coloring book.

Bargain books make any outing a success!

Tomorrow I’ll be going to a documentary on Patty Hearst at Café Ambrosia at 7pm if anyone would like to join me.

~ Kara

3 thoughts on “Not Best in Show

  1. Katie Halton says:

    Wow. I thought I would be really sad to miss Dog Agility day. Turns out it was a good day to take off!

  2. Al says:

    I have never seen Kara look as happy as she is while holding her Presidential coloring book.

Leave a Reply

