Final Thoughts – Kara

I think feedyourmindfebruary was a rousing success! I had a great time with both the overall project and the blog. It was awesome to spend time with Katie and I really enjoyed writing about all the events I attended.

My adventures this month have taught me a lot. I feel like I’ve learned so much, and not just objective facts about sloths, Russian spirituality, and Patty Hearst. I found that I didn’t mind going to events by myself, though I have to admit I’m still not crazy about my friend Natalie’s side mission which involved talking to people I don’t know. Blech.

Partners in not crime

Katie and I talked about how the hardest part of attending any of these events was that first step out your front door. (Well, that and parking downtown on a Friday evening.) One of the benefits of not going solo was that company really helped in taking that first step. If I knew I was meeting someone, or if I had a friend who also wanted to go, it really helped with my motivation.

It was also hard to keep up the pace. I missed having a day where I didn’t have to put on pants. Though, to be fair, there were six days when I didn’t go to events and I probably spent a few of those pantless.

Even if I didn’t enjoy all the events I went to (I’m looking at you Scandinavian Cultural Celebration) I never felt like it was a waste of time. Either I learned something interesting, or I went somewhere I’d never been before, or I was just having fun being with my friends. I want to give a special thanks to everyone who attended an event with me: Katie (of course), Liz, Maggie, Anne, my mom, Ashley, Al, and anyone else I might have overlooked.

I always told myself before going that if the event sucked then I could just leave, but I never did. I never thought: “Golly gee, this time would have been better spent sitting on my couch watching re-runs of Law and Order.” For instance here is a photo montage of my life today:

Rockin' Fraggle hair

Cat glaring at me

Grading midterms

Watching Dr. Who on my laptop

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Over the course of the month I went to 25 different events. I attended six lectures, two plays, five museum exhibits, two art galleries, four films, and various other events I don’t even know how to classify (RC car racing? Masquerade Gala?) With the exception of two events they were all free, they also took me all over the city and made for a memorable, unique, and incredible month.

I don’t think I can express enough how much I enjoyed this project. I didn’t realize how much I missed going to random academic lectures and learning interesting things from people who are truly passionate about their topics. I got to go to so many places I’ve never been before. I was genuinely surprised by this since I do consider myself a townie and thought I knew the city.

I thought I knew you

My friend Carrie said that my blog was like a British television show. It was only ever intended to last for a limited period of time, but it was better than what most other blogs were doing. I think that’s kind of a weird analogy, but it made me laugh.

I want to thank everyone who read about Katie and my adventures. You all have been amazingly supportive. Everyone who left a comment or sent me an encouraging text, you made it that much easier to continue. I also have to give a shout out to my mom for proofreading just about all my posts. Damn you passive sentence structure, I just can’t quit you.

Now that the month is over and I’ve taken some time off I’m ready to begin my next project: makestuffmarch.

~ Kara

Material culture from feedyourmindfebruary

One thought on “Final Thoughts – Kara

  1. Ruth says:

    Loved it! Especially the part about the hippie dad (he looks funny and offset the Michigan stuff, nicely). Would be curious to hear more from you two in April-May about (possible themes) music and the back-to-the-land stuff happening in YOUR city or area. Thanks, gals. Your writing is fun and interesting.

Leave a Reply

